Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriverRack PA & DriveRack PA+ PA Configuration Wizard
Options

New setup questions

RodMartinRodMartin Posts: 3
edited November 2011 in PA Configuration Wizard
Hi, this is my first post to this forum, I have read the FAQ's and getting started stuff but haven't seen anything like what my questions are. I'm a drummer in a country band, we have been running a very simple sound system, we are using in ear monitors for the vocals, so all we are dealing with is front of house. I have an old Mackie 808m powered mixer, a Crown XLS1000 amp for the sub and passive JBL SF15 mains running off the Mackie. I am considering purchasing two EV ELX112 powered speakers to use either in conjunction with or in place of the JBL speakers. I am not sure if the use of the powered mixer with powered speakers causes any issues, (I assumed that with the DRPA in the mix it would be OK) and is it any advantage to use the EVs as the high range and JBLs as mid range. The Mackie has a mixer out and power amp in that I am using to get the signal from the mixer to the DRPA and back again, but with only the one out I am currently going into the left high input on the DRPA, then the sub to the left low. When I try to do an auto eq, the system says incomplete make sure the speakers and amps are plugged in and powered on......arrgh.
I am not a tech guy, (oh really) I can find my way around in the DRPA but I think my system is old and not really ideal for this, but I'm thinking if I add the EVs, maybe it would be a first step toward a new system. A whole lot of questions, sorry, help with any or all would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    GadgetGadget Posts: 4,915
    Actually it would seem your OVER thinking this...

Remember that dissimilar speakers in near proximity can cause problems with cancellations and other sonic chaos...

The Driverack doesn't care if the speakers are powered or passive with amps nor does it know the difference...