Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriverRack PA & DriveRack PA+ PA Connectivity
Options

Beginner HERE .... yes, another setup question

jamminforeverjamminforever Posts: 12
edited January 2012 in PA Connectivity
Going to setup for the first time this weekend our new stuff along with the old. We did have tops, mixer and monitors and just recently added a power amp (qsc gx3) for the monitors, a QSC kw181 sub and finally the DRPX unit.
So, here goes, .... any suggestions to setup, sub placement on stage?

monitors are being ran free range, so no dbx with these...

the 2 tops are yamaha br15's (unpowered, but we are running them into a powered mixer yamaha emx512sc just for power AFTER the drpx)
the sub is QSC KW 181 (powered)
and the mixer is a mackie 1402-VLZ3

So essentially what I was thinking is to set up the mackie mixer and run the outs from the mackie into the dbx. Then connect the sub to the sub out on the drpx and then run the mains out from the drpx to the yamaha power mixer channels 1 and 2, then run that to the 2 tops. ( no effects and flat eq on the yamaha ). I understand that it's a bit over complicating, but we don't have it in the budget right now to get another power amp for the tops, maybe in a few months. So for what we have now, is it do-able?

We do mainly rock-classic rock in small bars and venues. Eventually we want to upgrade to a bigger mixer, another power amp, better tops and possibly add another kw181.

Comments

• Options
    GadgetGadget Posts: 4,915
    So the DRPA's outputs are converted to 1/4" balanced and inserted into the amps using the' Amp inputs'... right?

That's fine, what crossover point and slope are you proposing?

It would be good to find a way to cut the lows out of the monitors from about 130-150hz on down...
    Gadget
  • Options
    So the DRPA's outputs are converted to 1/4" balanced and inserted into the amps using the' Amp inputs'... right?