Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriverRack PA & DriveRack PA+ PA Connectivity
Options

2-way mono PA setup passive highs, powered low

u-donnyu-donny Posts: 3
edited March 2012 in PA Connectivity
I'm helping a small club with their setup, so I really don't want to screw this up and have them blow anything like they have in the past with no x-over, comp or limiter. My first suggestion was to get a DriveRack... and they did. Sweet!

I'm not a sound engineer, but I know enough to be able to take in what the pros have to offer.

Here's what we have:

2 - JBL MRX515 (passive highs, parallel mono)
1 - QSC RMX1450 (bridged mono - runs the 2 highs at 4 Ohms)
2 - Yorkville NX200S (10" powered subs)
1 - Behringer Eurodesk SX2442FX mixing console

Currently the board outputs in stereo to DriveRack L+R inputs, but ultimately I want these summed to mono before it gets to the QSC power amp to plug into channel 1 (for bridged mono operation).

I'm not sure how to set up the DriveRack to make sure it's doing what I want. In the first 2 settings of the setup wizard do I:

1) set Input Setup to mono or stereo?
2) then do I set the GEQ to Dual Mono or Stereo Linked?

3) If this is possible, will I be able to use just one XLR output of the DriveRack for the mono summed output?

How exactly should I handle the Low setup (2 Yorkville powered subs, mono)?

Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks so much!

Comments

• Options
    DraDra Posts: 3,777
    1) set Input Setup to mono or stereo?
    2) then do I set the GEQ to Dual Mono or Stereo Linked?

3) If this is possible, will I be able to use just one XLR output of the DriveRack for the mono summed output?

How exactly should I handle the Low setup (2 Yorkville powered subs, mono)?

There are several ways to get where you want to be.
    Set up the Driverack as:
    Stereo (linked GEQ).
    Select the MRX515 passive (or select custom, it doesnt' matter).
    Select RMX 1450 (or custom, it doesn't matter).