Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads dbx Archive General dbx Archive General Discussion
Options

Need suggestions for QSC KW153/181 and DRPX

PolabearPolabear Posts: 20
I'm new to this forum and appreciate the useful info here! Powered speakers and speaker management boxes are new to me but I've been doing sound off and on since 1968. We purchased 2 QSC KW181's and 2 QSC KW153's to use for local bands in small to medium venues in our area. That could mean an acoustic duet up to a 5 piece rock band that we would use this system for. Besides the QSC's, we have a new DRPX, 20 channel Mackie board, DBX 231 EQ, DBX stereo compressor, 4 two way 15" Seizmic Audio monitors with power amp rated at 800 w/ch 8 ohms/1200 w/ch 4 ohms/1600 w/ch 2 ohms. I've always relied on my ears and analog tricks in the past. I would also like to use the DRPX to EQ and catch feedback from the monitors, if possible. I am very interested in learning how to set up the DRPX to maximize the potential of the QSC speakers concerning hookups, EQ, compression and clean power output. The Mackie has stereo outs as well as a sub out also. I can see that there are several different ways I could hook this up and I've read the posts on using the calibration mic and general setup of the DRPX.

Any suggestions, guides, info or brain cell boosters will be appreciated! :D
Thanks, Polabear

Comments

• Options
    GadgetGadget Posts: 4,915
    From the wording in your post ai assume you didn't "Start Here"

viewtopic.php?f=61&t=959

Or maybe seen these posts?

viewforum.php?f=60
  • Options
    Thanks Gadget,

I will work my way through all of these posts and come back if I can't find what I need. Thanks for your reply and patience! Sorry for asking such a general question...
  • Options
    DraDra Posts: 3,777
    Polabear wrote: