Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriveRack PX
Options

Brand new user - Need help with new QSC PA

robgoldbergrobgoldberg Posts: 16
edited December 2015 in DriveRack PX
Hi folks. Brand new to the forum. Looking forward to participating. Let me first say a couple of things: firstly, I have read the manual several time and have read some of the doc on this forum. Secondly, I am a professional keyboard player who also does sound so I am no sound pro by any means.

Here is the gear I have recently purchased:

Behringer X32 mixing console
Behringer S16 digital snake
Two QSC KW122 tops
Two QSC KW181 bottoms
DriveRack PX

I have tried the PX setup wizard multiple times. Several times I tried using the CUSTOM setting for speaker selections. Several times I tried the QSC K12 and QSC KSub selections.

I just don't really seem to know what I'm doing. For one thing, the subs always seem too low when the wizard is finished. I know I can turn them up but I thought the PX was supposed to accurately figure that out for me. And when I look at the EQ settings from the Auto-EQ, it seems the high mid and high end are all turned up (5 consecutive bands), indicating that the tops are not loud enough when the Auto-EQ runs, which seems backwards to my end result of the subs not being loud enough.

* I have the RTA mic on a stand about 20 feet from the system in my living room centered between the stacks at about ear level
* I have the subs on the floor about 10-12 feet apart with the tops mounted on poles facing directly forward.

I need help knowing what I might be doing wrong in the setup for running the wizard and actually running it. I will admit that the EQ of the system is way better after the wizard runs than it is without it so that's a good start. But the tops seem a little shrill and the subs seem to need to be turned up, even though the auto balancing of the system didn't seem to think so.