Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads dbx Archive General dbx Archive General Discussion
Options

Newbie question on 2x4, 1x3, or 1x2 (stero or mono)

BroadwayBroadway Posts: 14
I am brand new to this level of audio engineering and my knowledge had stopped with my analog PA that I used to gig with mid 90s. Though I have tons of questions, I will try to keep them as specific as possible to the DBX since this is the forum I am in. I am using the DBX 260 and have four Crown CTS 600 amps . There is a three speaker high/mid cluster located about 25 feet above the floor at the front of the auditorium right at the front of the stage. One Crown amp goes to the center speaker and one amp goes to the L/R cluster speakers. There is a sub on the left and right of the stage on the floor. One amp goes to both subs. Finally, the last amp goes to the monitors.
The current DBX260 setup is 2x4. Stereo from the console (Yamaha LSR), to L/R high, and L/R Low. Since there is only one high/mid cluster, why do you all think the setup is coming stereo from the console? Would it be better or easier to set up going mono from the console, to mono to the cluster, to stereo to the subs (1x3 I assume)? Or straight mono to all and use 1x2?

I started working with this system and unfortunately do not have the historical knoweldge providing the "why" behind it all. I just looking to optimize and simplify where possible.

Comments

• Options
    DraDra Posts: 3,777
    Are you using the interface (GUI) to control / monitor?
    If you are, look at the main screen. Look at the headings.... IN EQ INS INS etc
    Look at the RTE heading. Below it you may see...
    ST
    A
    B
    A+B.
    If one says A+B, look and see what that output is named. Look at the other output names as well.
    Also check how many cable are exiting the 260 to the amps. If there are 5, that is another clue.