Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriveRack PX
Options

PX Configuration with JBL PRX700 Series - Idiot check!

FondleFondle Posts: 4
edited April 2014 in DriveRack PX
Hi all,

I've been DJing for almost 20 years and have decided to set up a small DJ & P.A. equipment rental business. Other than the odd fiddle around with P.A. gear whilst at gigs, I am new to this so learning all the time! I've read through the "Start Here" and F.A.Q. sections a couple of times and set my PX up based upon the information I found there, but wanted to run my various configurations past the experts in case I've misunderstood anything... your help and feedback are much appreciated! I haven't actually bought the speakers yet so have not run the wizards etc. but have set up the crossovers in the PX in a manner which I think makes sense...

The powered speakers I've settled on come from the new JBL PRX700 series:

2 x PRX718XLF Subs (Freq. Range -10dB 30Hz to 103Hz)
2 x PRX735 3 way full range speakers (Freq. Range -10dB 35Hz - 20kHz)
2 x PRX710 2 way speakers (Freq. Range -10dB 50Hz - 19.6kHz)

I'm assuming that I refer to the Freq. Range rather than the Freq. Response of the speakers in order to set the crossovers correctly... or have I got that the wrong way round?

The speakers will be offered as modular packages to suit the client's needs / space / situation. I've shown the packages and my configs below:

2 x PRX718XLF Subs - HPF 40Hz BW18 - LPF 100Hz LR24
2 x PRX735 Tops - HPF 100Hz LR24

2 x PRX735 Full Ranges - HPF 40Hz BW18

2 x PRX718XLF - HPF 40Hz BW18 - LPF 118Hz LR24
2 x PRX710 - HPF 118Hz LR24

1 x PRX718XLF - HPF 40Hz BW18 - LPF 118Hz LR24

In all cases the Compressor & Limiter are disabled as the speakers themselves have dbx Type 4 limiters in them.

Have I got things about right? Any glaring errors?

Thanks in advance!
Dan.

Comments

• Options
    DraDra Posts: 3,777
    Fondle wrote:
    Hi all,