Virtual Device Limits?

lo1504lo1504 Junior MemberPosts: 4
Hi,
are there known limits of

SET_VIRTUAL_CHANNEL_ COUNT
SET_VIRTUAL_LEVEL_COUNT
SET_VIRTUAL_PORT_COUNT

?

Comments

  • ericmedleyericmedley Senior Member - 3709 Posts Posts: 4,119
    They have the same liimits as all devices. I believe the channel count is 3999, the level count is 500 and the port count is 64. Don't quote me but, off the top of my head, I think those are correct.
  • HARMAN_icraigieHARMAN_icraigie Technical Trainer II, Harman Professional University Posts: 404
    Port count can go into the 100's and beyond.

    Line 787 2018-03-28 (13:23:19):: CIpEvent::OnLine 35001:193:1
    Line 788 2018-03-28 (13:23:19):: CIpEvent::OnLine 35001:194:1
    Line 789 2018-03-28 (13:23:19):: CIpEvent::OnLine 35001:195:1
    Line 790 2018-03-28 (13:23:19):: CIpEvent::OnLine 35001:196:1
    Line 791 2018-03-28 (13:23:19):: CIpEvent::OnLine 35001:197:1
    Line 792 2018-03-28 (13:23:19):: CIpEvent::OnLine 35001:198:1
    Line 793 2018-03-28 (13:23:19):: CIpEvent::OnLine 35001:199:1
    Line 794 2018-03-28 (13:23:19):: CIpEvent::OnLine 35001:200:1

    Same with channels and levels - only limit is going to be the the integer data type

    Line 1 2018-03-28 (13:28:54):: Feedback:On [35001:1:1] - Channel 9999
    Line 2 2018-03-28 (13:28:54):: Output Channel:On - From [35001:1:1] - Channel 9999
    Line 3 2018-03-28 (13:28:55):: Feedback:Off [35001:1:1] - Channel 9999
    Line 4 2018-03-28 (13:28:55):: Output Channel:Off - From [35001:1:1] - Channel 9999
    Line 5 2018-03-28 (13:29:43):: Level Value To [35001:1:1] - Level 999 Value= 201

    ... but just because you can doesn't mean you you should.
  • ericmedleyericmedley Senior Member - 3709 Posts Posts: 4,119
    icraigie wrote: »
    Port count can go into the 100's and beyond.



    ... but just because you can doesn't mean you you should.

    And this is why I recommended the port count stay below 64. I've ran into issues when i've tried to go higher. I never bothered to suss out why or on which masters/firmware it seemed to happen. I've just found 64 seems to be the ceiling for some reason. Same thingwith levels. It seems like they quit working over 500.
Sign In or Register to comment.