Home AMX User Forum AMXForums Archive Threads AMX Hardware
Options

How to test the program port & other serial , IR & I/O ports on NI 3000

Hi Guys i am new to AMX .please tell me how to test the program port on NI 3000 , i have a NI 3000 & i cant access it via program port . I have access via IP & i can use almost all telnet commands. Basically i want to test if all the ports are working okay but dont know how to do it. To access the NI 3000 via program port i have done the following.
DIP switch pins 6 , 7 , 8 are up 1-5 are down so default settings 38400 , 8 , N , 1 , N . I have appiled same settings to my built in serial port on my dell computer on com 1. I have used a db9 crossover cable with pin 2-3 & 3-2 crossed. I am running out of options . If the ports are faulty then i want to send it back to seller. Please help me & tell me how to test the ports.

Comments

• Options
    DHawthorneDHawthorne Posts: 4,584
    If your cable is good, I think you *have* tested it. The program port ought to work when all else fails. Your settings are correct (as long as you rebooted it after changing any dipswitches). There's nothing else I'm aware of ... but if you can connect IP, double check the web interface. There is a setting on the security screen that allows you to turn off the RS-232 program port (or maybe it just adds a password, I've never actually mucked with it).
  • Options
    DHawthorne wrote: »
    If your cable is good, I think you *have* tested it. The program port ought to work when all else fails. Your settings are correct (as long as you rebooted it after changing any dipswitches). There's nothing else I'm aware of ... but if you can connect IP, double check the we interface. There is a setting on the security screen that allows you to turn off the RS-232 program port (or maybe it just adds a password, I've never actually mucked with it).