Home AMX User Forum AMXForums Archive Threads Residential Forum

Insteon control with AMX - Hexadecimal string problems

I posted this somewhere else in the forum but this seems to be more correct of a location for it.

Hi, I am a bit new to AMX programming and am trying to put a system together with multiple control types.
I am stuck on setting up my lighting control. I am using RS232 control of Insteon lighting. I have their developers kit to explain the communication protocol. I have initialized the correct port with baud rate etc.
In sending the command string, I get no results. The string is hexadecimal, (02 62 11 11 11 05 11 FF).
When sending this string through Docklight Scripting software, the light responds correctly.
I have had success with serial control of other devices with a literal string. I am not sure what I am missing, if I have to separate the bits or something. The controller is flashing the TX light when the GUI button is activated but the light does not respond. Does AMX require something done when hexadecimal is being sent?

Comments

• John NagyJohn Nagy Posts: 1,734
    First, you can and should go delete your duplicate post.
    Second, you really do need training, this question is the tip of the iceberg.
  • Joe HebertJoe Hebert Posts: 2,159
    I have initialized the correct port with baud rate etc. In sending the command string, I get no results. The string is hexadecimal, (02 62 11 11 11 05 11 FF).
    Show us your code and we'll see if we can spot the problem.
  • No doubt I need training. I have gone to AMX's programming class but it was 5 years ago and I've not been active using the system due to other job distractions. I have been reading through all the manuals on their site, been watching all the tutorial videos and am signed up for the programming class again in 1 week. Just thought I might be missing something obvious to somebody with some experience.
  • After Defining the devices, this is what I am trying to run.