Home AMX User Forum AMXForums Archive Threads AMX Applications and Solutions

NetLinx Studio and Axcent3

Let me begin by saying that I am new to AMX programming. Having said that, I will appreciate it if someone can answer the following questions:

1. If I develop an application in Netlinx studio, can I run this application in Axcent3 controller? If so, what pitfalls should I watch out for?

2. I have a number of devices. Some of these can be controlled using RS232 (e.g. Video processor, Video projector), while others are simply IR remote controlled (e.g. Pioneer DVD Player, CD Player, VCR, etc.). I understand the hard-wired connection between and AXcent3 controller and RS232 controlled devices. What I am unclear about is how to handle IR controlled devices (since they are not directly connected to the controller). Would I need an IR receiver of some sort? Or do the pulses travel directly from the Touch Panel to the controller? May be I am trying too hard to understand the inner workings of these things.

3. Where can I purchase AXlink cable that is not the usual bulk of 500-1000feet? I only need about 50 feet.

Comments

• cmacma Posts: 94
    Pure_Audio wrote:
    Let me begin by saying that I am new to AMX programming. Having said that, I will appreciate it if someone can answer the following questions:

1. If I develop an application in Netlinx studio, can I run this application in Axcent3 controller? If so, what pitfalls should I watch out for?

Just program it using an Axcess template and Axcess language in studio.