Home AMX User Forum AMXForums Archive Threads AMX Applications and Solutions VisualArchitect
Options

Still getting no 232 response

I'm just beginning to use VA and just updated to 1.3. Everything is going smoothly except I'm getting no response from any 232/422 devices at all. I have checked and double checked the pinouts. I'm trying to control a Precis LT video switcher, a Matrix MI8 audio switcher, a Viewstat and a Yamaha RXV2700 receiver. All of those have Duet Modules and are selectable under devices. I'm must be missing something IF this is supposed to be a reliable programming option.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Keith

Comments

• Options
    Are you at least getting one-way communication-meaning, are the devices responding to the commands but not reporting back?

Have you opened the code in netlinx studio and turned on device notifications to see if the strings are being sent and if anything is being returned?

heads-up on the precis module - there is no volume control as of yet if you need it... The commands are there, but there is no VA use for them. You will need to write those blocks of code in the custom.axi. Additionally, the precis LT has audio switching, but not digital volume control. Your matrix piece is probably handling that, but the lack of DVC on the precis was a huge kick in the gut on a recent project.
  • Options
    Thanks Chris for the suggestions. I did monitor it in Netlinx Studio. The strings can be seen going to the device from the panel but not strings coming back. The device responds for a while and then locks up the whole system. So far I've only worked on the Yamaha receiver, so I'll try some other devices this afternoon. So far I'm not very impressed with the millions that supposedly has been spend on VA.
  • Options