Home AMX User Forum AMXForums Archive Threads AMX Applications and Solutions

iPhone / PDA Compatibility?

Anyone know about future compatibility of logging onto AMX touch panel devices via an Apple iPhone? Currently I can use the iPhone to browse right to the login page and then that is where I get stopped. Is there currently a PDA phone on the market that can log into AMX Classroom Manager and control the touch panels?

Thanks,

EC

Comments

• TurnipTruckTurnipTruck Posts: 1,485
    I've heard of being able to "Jailbreak" an iPhone, allowing it to run a VNC client. I have no first hand experience with it. However, if that is possible, you could connect to G4 touchpanel.
  • Chip MoodyChip Moody Posts: 727
    Doubt you'll get a phone to access panels, but perhaps this is an option?

http://www.cepro.com/article/airremote_for_iphone_greatest_little_tv_remote/

- Chip
  • viningvining Posts: 4,368
    Looks like there are more worth while inovations coming from Global Cache and HAI then............. At least for the consumer market.
  • alexanboalexanbo Posts: 282
    Chip Moody wrote: »
    Doubt you'll get a phone to access panels, but perhaps this is an option?

http://www.cepro.com/article/airremote_for_iphone_greatest_little_tv_remote/

- Chip

Once they open the Apple Application Store they'll have a "legal" VNC client and then it shouldn't be a problem to log into a panel. I have this working on a Nokia N800 fine (in fact probably better then the iphone as the resolution matches the 700vi panels that I'm logging into).
  • cmatkincmatkin Posts: 86
    I have an iPhone and run the VNC client software. This works all the time. :)

Regards
    Craig
    cmatkin wrote: »
    I have an iPhone and run the VNC client software. This works all the time. :)

Craig

I don't YET have an iPhone. Could you tell me more about the process of getting VNC running on the iPhone?

Thanks.
  • dmurray14dmurray14 Posts: 80
    Guys,