Home AMX User Forum AMX General Discussion
Options

RTI and AMX integration?

Hello all,

Please let me start by saying, I am new to AMX. I have been thru designer / installer and programmer 1 and for our first project we hired an independant programmer. I am now working on my first system (our showroom, so I have time to screw things up and learn from them). I feel confident that I can make everything work using an inwall touchpanel for our showroom theater and whole house audio (setup in zones for the offices with MET6N and a 500i for the boss).

What I'm looking to do also and this is were I really need the help is intergrating an RTI T2c with an RP6 into the system to allow handheld control of the theater. If someone would be willing to give me a tutorial on how this is done that would be great.

Thanks in advance.

Toby

Comments

• Options
    jazzwyldjazzwyld Posts: 199
    One Way to do it

The way we did it, is by using the XP8, I used the Remote in RF mode. In conjuction with the MIO-IRRX. I programmed the remote to pulse AMX IR Channels. Then use the XP8 to control which IR port it goes out. Then programed in the AMX using button_events.
  • Options
    Jimweir192Jimweir192 Posts: 502
    Another way is to use a CM232 interface and write your own control protocol - I use 'RTIButton:xxx' with xxx being a numeric value, so each button on the RTI issues a unique serial string that I can pass in my AMX code and treat it almost like a TP.

The other option is to use the AXlink AXB-RF but this restricts you to 255 channels.
  • Options
    iainshawiainshaw Posts: 133
    Agree the CM232 and RP6 combination is preferable. The RTI RF receiver has better range, and it gets you away from the 255 buttons limit - which becomes a REAL pain if you have to use two AMX RF receivers to increase overall range coverage. Our home-brewed 232 comms protocol carries info about what device, what room and what command and the string is broken down on the AMX master. Works well.