Home AMX User Forum AMX Control Products

Volume Level Control Best Practices

I am a new programmer who just recently attended Programmer 2. I am currently on my first large residential system. There is a Tango 16 zone setup and a media room with a 232 controlled Marantz receiver. I have tried 3 or 4 different methods seeking consistent, predictable volume level control on the touch panels. I am curious what some of the more experienced programmers suggest as a best practice for volume level control and feedback on a touch panel.

Thanks in advance for any and all advice.

Comments

• DHawthorneDHawthorne Posts: 4,584
    I don't know that there really is a "best practice," so much as "preferred practice."

My preference is to use volume up and down buttons, and have a bargraph display for feedback only. I generally use the hardware buttons on a panel for this and a very simple hold with repeat on the button event. The feedback level gets updated as the receiver sends it.
  • ColzieColzie Posts: 470
    I only send volume up/down commands (versus incrementing the value in code and sending absolute values to the hardware) and display the level on the TP based on the feedback from the device. Both Tango and Marantz work well this way. This way no matter what the current volume of the hardware (perhaps it was very high but someone turned the knob on the front panel) the up/down will not jump to some other value.

For the repeat portion, I've gotten in the habit of giving each TP its own timeline to use as needed for "press and hold" operations. This is because button.input.channel does not always work as expected in the HOLD event when you have arrays of TPs and buttons. Also, it is easy to limit the number of repeats to prevent runaway volume in case the RELEASE is not seen by the processor.

For Mute I give the user a toggle button. In code I track the mute state and send the proper discrete command. My mute button flashes red when mute is on.