Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads DriverRack PA & DriveRack PA+ PA General Discussion
Options

New User - May be a loser!

visoundguyvisoundguy Posts: 11
edited June 2008 in PA General Discussion
Hi All,

Just purchased a Driverack PA at the prompting of a friend who felt I could eliminate a bunch of stuff in my rack. I also was tempted by the RTA capabilities as I'm a newbie at using an EQ and had nothing to EQ a room with. I've done everything the hard way - and thought this thing would offer push-button convenience.

I have (at least) 2 problems: 1. I didn't do my homework. 2. I have custom built (in my basement) speakers and 4 Samson SX 2800 amps. I have homebult Dual 18 subs, 2ea 2 X 15 mains with horns, and 2, custom built 2 X 8\" speakers to fill out the mid highs!

I can get my setup to sound pretty darn good Manually, but it's very inconsistent and I had hoped to gain more consistency and a bit more headroom with this unit.

My question is - since I have a homebuilt rig, should I even bother with trying to set this up, or is it a waste of time? If I should give it a go, I'd like some advice as to where to start. If I should give it up, I have a Driverack PA for sale!

Thanks for any help you can give.

Comments

• Options
    kpippenkpippen Posts: 551
    Hello visoundguy

No problem,...and yes the DRPA will make a significant difference... Do you have the specs on the drivers or the cabs that you built in regards to frequency response?... Also,...I would like to know the number of drivers in each cab and the total impedance (4 or 8 ohms) of each cab... Also,...can you give me the specs on your amps... How many amps are you using for subs, mids and highs?... Are they used in stereo or bridge mono mode?... I can give you a good custom starting point for your DRPA if you can give me a good idea in how your system is used and what it's capable of... So basically,...the more info, specs, etc., you can provide the better...:)