Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads dbx Archive General Configuration Wizard

I have 2 JBL SRX4725 cabs and 2 JBL SRX4722 cabs - Need Amps

CountryBoyCountryBoy Posts: 2
edited November 2008 in Configuration Wizard
First off, let me say that I am not a Pro Audio anything ..

I have a 4 speakers setup that I know I am not amping correctly so I want the right equipment for the job and am willing to pay for the right equipment... and I want it to be touring quality equipment.

These speakers all sound great .. the 4725's were reconed in 04 and new crossovers were factory installed at that time. The 4722's were purchased at that time and have been the work horses for our \"small hall\" venues ever since.

Here is the information that I have been given in the past, any corrections or advice will be greatly appreciated ..

I was told that the 4725 cabs need to be overpowered by not less than 50% due to the 15\" speakers and that the 4722 cabs need to be overpowered by not less than 30% due to the 12\" speakers. Is this information correct?

This being said..

I assume that since the 4725's are rated at 600W RMS @ 8 ohms each, I need to have no less than 900W @ 8 ohms per speaker supplied by the amp.

I also assume that since the 4722's are rated at 600W RMS @ 8 ohms each I need to have no less than 800W @ 8 ohms per speaker supplied by the amp.

The individual that told me this information suggested that I purchase amps in the QSC PowerLight 3.4 or Crown MA 3600 range.. would the users here agree?

Any suggestions or discussion about this will be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• DraDra Posts: 3,777
    600w RMS / 1200w Prog
    Go with 2x the RMS (or = the Prog) rating of the cab.

Go here to see what QSC recommends for your rated speaker. Then compare with comparable Crown, etc.
    http://www.qsc.com/products/amps/advanc ... lector.htm