baw659baw659 Posts: 37
edited July 2010 in Connectivity
We have the following equipment:
DriverackPA+
2- Crown xti 4000
1- Crown xti 6000
2- JBL SRX725
2- Peavey SP118

What would be the best way to connect and configure that equipment? I am a newbie with biamping and bridging so the more detail the better. The JBL's have a biamp switch on them. Sorry for the dumb questions, I have been out of sound for quite some time and am trying to catch up.

thanks, Brian

Comments

• GadgetGadget Posts: 4,915
    Ok,
    Run the amps in stereo.. since the mids and lows are 4 ohms each.. that would give you 650 watts for each horn, 600 watts for each midrange 15" and 1050 watts per 18" speaker...the power to the 15's and the 18" is low...but that's what you have...

The outputs of the mixer to the inputs of the DRPA
    The HI outs of the DRPA to the inputs of the first XTi 4000
    The Mid outputs of the DRPA to the inputs of the second XTi4000
    The Low outputs of the DRPA to the inputs of the XTi6000

Set up a 2X4 (fullrange tops and stereo subs) in the wizard...no real need to select the actual components you have since the actual tunings for the tops will be done in the XTi amps... for this you'll need to install System architect in to your computer and then you can automatically download and install the JBL tunings for the SRX725 speakers into the XTi amps...(which is VERY cool!)

The Subs will be crossed in, in the DRPA @ 88.4hz LR48 since your low on power for the subs I'd suggest a HPF of 45hz BW24 or higher...the mids will be crossed in @ 91hz LR48, and Hipassed @1.15khz LR48. The horn is crossed in @ 1.12khz LR48. all the PEQ"s and delays will be handled by the XTi processing.. as well as any limiters you will want to set (especially the one for the tops...