Home dbx User Forum dbx Archive Threads dbx Archive General Configuration Wizard
Options

intermediate setup question drpa+ over xti amps

danxtdanxt Posts: 4
edited April 2013 in Configuration Wizard
I've been doing sound for several years now, but I'm getting more into the digital world with it.
I heard something from the "harman guy" at sweetwater recently that made me start thinking about setting up a little different. The suggestion was that I ought to move as much of the "processing" to the amps as possible, and mainly use the drpa+ for balancing and master eq-ing.
Here's what I'm working with:
2 STX812m as tops
2 SRX718 as subs
drpa+
2 xti4002 amps

This is a live sound (band) setup, and for the venues, I could care less about stereo, so to get the most power from the amps, I am running the tops daisy chained off of one amp in bridged mono (3200 w total output), and the subs off the other amp in the same way.

What are your opinions about using the amp dsp instead of the drpa+ for crossover, limiter, eq?

I do have bandmanager2 installed, and have played around a little, but don't really see much extra capability compared to the front panel.

Comments

• Options
    DraDra Posts: 3,777
    Generally I think it has many benefits to do like he said. But only those things that, once set, should never be touched. PEQ settings for cab flat response and RMS limiting (doesn't the XTI have rms limiting?) are the 2 that come to mind. X-over settings and Peak limiting I believe best suited for the DRPA, because you'll have on the fly access. The PEQs in the DRPA would come in very handy as general / broad room adjustments. At least, it is worth a try.

Let us know how this work out for you, as others can learn from your experience.

DRA
  • Options
    If the xti amos have rms limiting, I have not found it.
    Through bandmanager2, there is an output attenuator, but I I have not found any documentation of how it works.