Home AMX User Forum NetLinx Studio
Options

sending text to axcent3 from linux console

Hi,

I'm kind of new to netlinx, I got a couple of Axent3 and I wanted to make a simple alarm system. The system will send updates to my linux server via one of the rs232 ports and will receive some commands from it as well. Sending was not much of a problem, I got it to send the strings perfectly fine, now the receiving part is proving a lot more difficult than I imagined.

Here is the test code I'm using to test the received data:

PROGRAM_NAME='source_sec'

DEFINE_DEVICE
RELAY = 7
LAIN_S1 = 1
LAIN_S2 = 2
IO_IN = 14

DEFINE_CONSTANT
A = 120

DEFINE_VARIABLE
LABFF[1]
LA_CH

DEFINE_LATCHING

DEFINE_MUTUALLY_EXCLUSIVE

DEFINE_START
PULSE [RELAY,1]
PULSE [RELAY,2]
CREATE_BUFFER LAIN_S1,LABFF

DEFINE_PROGRAM
SEND_COMMAND LAIN_S1,'SET BAUD 9600,N,8,1,485 Disable'
IF (LENGTH_STRING (LABFF))
LA_CH = GET_BUFFER_CHAR (LABFF)

IF ( LA_CH = a )
{
ON [RELAY,2]
}

now from the linux side, I just send a echo for the "a" to the serial port:
echo a > /dev/ttyS1

the rs-232 led lights up, but the relay wont turn on.

Any help or pointers would be greatly appreciated
Douglas

Comments

• Options
    ericmedleyericmedley Posts: 4,177
    IF ( LA_CH = 'a' )

It's been a while since I've done any AXCESS but I think you need to put ticks around the 'a'. This may be wrong.

you could also use FIND_STRING.

IF(FIND_STRING(LA_CH,'a',1))
    {
    // DO SOMETHING
    LA_CH='' // CLEAR IT OUT
    }
  • Options
    Hi
    ericmedley wrote: »
    IF ( LA_CH = 'a' )

It's been a while since I've done any AXCESS but I think you need to put ticks around the 'a'. This may be wrong.

you could also use FIND_STRING.

{
    // DO SOMETHING
    LA_CH='' // CLEAR IT OUT
    }

Thanks for your replay, I tried both options but it still won't work, with the second I get the following message when I compile:

source_sec.axs:Line 31:Type mismatch in function call 'FIND_STRING'